武吉知马自然保护区正在进行重要整修,直到 2016 年才会再次对公众开放。

对于喜爱动植物的游客来说,这个保护区绝对不容错过。这片保护区仅占新加坡总面积的 0.2%,却拥有极其 丰富多样的生物资源,孕育了五分之二的新加坡本土动植物物种。

武吉知马自然保护区之旅就像是一次回溯时光的旅行。在园中行走时,很容易就能想象出几个世纪前新加坡的 模样,那时候,整个国家还覆盖在一片热带低地森林中。现在,这些保护物种都是新加坡起源的遗迹,它们展现了这个世界经济大国完全不同的风貌。

武吉知马也发挥着极其重要的功能。保护区内设有一个水库,所贮藏的水受到周围自然环境的净化,非常纯净。这片区域受到悉心保护,以确保水库水质纯净,为城市提供优质水源。

地址: Hindhede Drive, Singapore 589318
电话:+65 1800 471 7300
营业时间: 2016 年前限制进入,详情请查看官 网。

点击此处查看网址。

Public access to the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve will be limited until the year 2016 to allow vital restoration projects to be carried out.

The reserve is well worth a visit for anyone who is interested in plants or animals. For an area which only accounts for 0.2% of Singapore’s total land mass, it has an incredible diversity, providing a home for two fifths of all of the species of plants and animals native to Singapore.

A journey to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is almost like taking a journey back in time. Whilst walking through the park it is much easier to imagine what Singapore looked like only a few centuries ago when the whole country was covered in lowland tropical forest. Nowadays, these reserves are now all that remains of Singapore’s humble origins, and they provide a shocking and stark contrast with the cosmopolitan and economic powerhouse of the city.

Bukit Timah also has a very important job. The reserve houses a reservoir which is fed clean water by its natural surroundings. The area is protected to ensure the purity of the water in the reservoir which is then fed back to the cities.

 Address: Hindhede Drive, Singapore 589318
Tel: +65 1800 471 7300
Opening hours: restricted access until 2016, see website for details
Click here to view website